• Latest News

Winners of the 2019 Australian Open Team Playoff:

Sartaj Hans - Peter Gill
Nabil Edgtton - Andy Hung

Quarter-Final draw (128 boards - 8 x 16 board stanzas)

Neill v Kozakos
Thomson v Reynolds
Newman v Thompson
Henbest v Hans

(In each match, the first named team will carry-forward 0.1 IMPs)

Session times (each day, 4 x 16 board stanzas)

10.00 am - 12.08 pm
12.20 pm - 2.28 pm
3.15 pm - 5.23 pm
5.35 pm - 7.43 pm

  1. Teams must nominate as either 2 or 3 pairs, and play in those partnerships throughout the event unless authorised by the CTD for due cause.
  2. Failing to lodge system cards within the time required in the regulations will result in IMP fines to be applied in the first match played.
  3. If a team is either disqualified or withdraws after the qualifying teams are declared and before November 3:
    1. the highest-ranked team which entered but failed to qualify (if any) will be invited to participate;
    2. any choices of opponents previously made will be voided, and the process will be repeated with the new field.

 • Purpose of the Playoff

The primary purpose of the Playoff is to select the Australian Open Team for the next year. By entering the Playoff, all players declare that they are available and intend to represent Australia in any Target Event/s if they qualify.

Participation and performance in the Playoff are also major criteria in deciding to whom the ABF offers the opportunity to represent Australia in any other (non-target) representative events that may arise in that year.

All players who enter the Playoff must be eligible to play for Australia as per the ABF's Eligibility to represent Australia Policy, and be eligible for any Target Events as per their eligibility codes.

 • Venue

Canberra Rex Hotel, 150 Northbourne Ave, Braddon, ACT

 • Parking

The Canberra Rex has about 65 car parking spaces in the vicinity of the hotel available to guests and delegates, free of charge on a first come, first served basis and there is underground parking for those staying in the apartments. There are also long stay public car parks in Braddon and Civic and convenient public transport options to get to and from the Rex.

 • Accommodation

There are plenty of accommodation choices in the general vicinity of the Canberra Rex to suit all budgets.

Canberra Rex Hotel and Serviced Apartments - Early Bird Discount

Hotel Availability

Rate (per night)





Early Bird


King Room



Complimentary full buffet breakfast



One Bedroom Apartment



Breakfast is not included



 Two Bedroom Apartment



Breakfast is not included



  1. Early Bird rates are valid until 30th September 2018 only
  2. Rates quoted are valid only for guests attending the quoted event
  3. Breakfast is included for Hotel guests
  4. 24-hour cancellation applies to all bookings, delegates have until 4pm to cancel for the following day

When booking just say that you are with the Australian Bridge Federation Playoffs and quote BNOV18.

Reservations: reservations@canberrarexhotel.com.au or Telephone: 02 6248 5311.

 • Fees and Subsidies

The entry fee for the Open Playoff is $1620 per team including GST.

To simplify administration for interstate players, it has been decided to net off the entry fee from player subsidies to produce a single player payment in most cases except players from Sydney and Canberra as follows:

Table of Player Payments or Fees


You come from Entry fee (per player) Per player subsidy You receive* You pay
Perth 270 820 550 0
Adelaide 270 570 300 0
Melbourne 270 440 170 0
Brisbane/Gold Coast 270 505 235 0
Sydney 270 270 0 0
Canberra 270 0 0 270


You come from Entry fee (per player) Per player subsidy You receive* You pay
Perth 405 820 415 0
Adelaide 405 570 165 0
Melbourne 405 440 35 0
Brisbane/Gold Coast 405 505 100 0
Sydney 405 270 0 135
Canberra 405 0 0 405

*The ABF policy of discounted entry for Youth applies.  In the case of youth players an additional payment of $135 will be added to the figures in this column .

Canberra and Sydney (in 4-person teams) players are asked to pay their entry fee by direct deposit to the following bank account:

BSB: 082968; A/C: 641482644 by the close of business on Thursday 25 October 2018.

Refunds will be given to players depending upon when their team is eliminated. $800 if they lose in the QF round, $400 if they lose in the SF and no refund to the two finalists. (These amounts will be adjusted accordingly for teams containing youth players eligible for ABF discount.)

Refunds and player subsidies will be paid in ONE net amount to each player's nominated bank account as soon as practicable after their elimination or when the Playoffs finish. Please contact Jane Rasmussen secretariat@abf.com.au with your nominated person and bank account details.

 • Format

The format will be teams based.
  • 128-board knockout matches, each played over two days;
  • teams ranked by PQPs for determining knockout brackets and tie breaking; and
  • a maximum entry of eight teams (ranked upon total PQPs - after bonuses are applied).

 • Target Events

The target event is the 2019 WBF Zone 7 Championships, played in conjunction with the APBF Championships. Success at the Zone 7 Championships affords the Australian Representative Team the right to attend the 2019 Bermuda Bowl.

 • Regulations

Supplementary Regulations - Final (18 September 2018)

 • Contacts

Tournament Organiser
Jane Rasmussen
(02) 6239 2265
Chief Tournament Director
Matthew McManus

For further information contact Laurie Kelso and Matthew McManus