268, An early solution

By Ron Klinger

Dealer West : East-West vulnerable

North
& AK93
v A8
463
& KJ1084
East
& 8542
v 43
¢+ AQ8754
&6

West North East South
49 Dble Pass 4a
Pass Pass 5% Dble
Pass  Pass Pass

North leads the #K: two — six (reverse count, showing an even number) — 10. What would you play at trick 2?

Suppose West switches to the #6: ace — nine — ten. Declarer plays the ¥3: five — king — ace. What would you do
now as North? Decide before reading further. (Answer later)

This was yesterday’s problem:
As dealer with only your side vulnerable, what would you do with:

10

v KQ109762
¢ KJ102

&5

You have 9 HCP, generally taken as below the values for a 1-opening. Mind you, there are experts around today
who would choose to open 1v.

You have a powerful 7-card suit, suitable for a pre-empt. You are vulnerable against not. Would you choose 3v
or 4¥ or something else?

Best approach is to count your losers and deduct from 13 (the number of cards you hold). That will give you
your playing tricks. To count losers, consider only the top three cards in each suit. Count a loser for every ace,
king or queen missing. Since you aim to play in a trump contract, a singleton is only one loser (except no loser
for a bare ace).

You have 1 loser in spades, hearts and clubs and 2 in diamonds. Total: 5 losers. Deduct from 13 = 8 playing
tricks. The modern style is to pre-empt at 3 tricks above the number of your playing tricks. That would be for 11
tricks here, but we do not pre-empt with 5% or 5. That means the hand is worth a 4¥ opening.

At unfavourable vulnerability, some experts prefer to use the Rule of 2 for pre-empts. Even so, that would
qualify for a 4¥ opening here: 8 playing tricks + 2 for the pre-empt = 10 tricks and so 4v.

The deal arose in Round 9 of the qualifying rounds in the 2018 World Teams. Of the six matches on BBO
(Bridge Base Online), the choices were equally divided between a 4% opening (six times) or something lower
(3 x5,2vx1).



Bd. 15: Dealer West : East-West vulnerable

North

& AK93

v A8

463

& KJ1084
West East
10 & 8542
v KQ109762 v 43
¢+ KJ102 + AQ8754
&5 &6

South

& QJ76

v J5

+9

& AQ9732

At most of the tables it went 3¥ : Double : Pass : 44, all pass or 4¥ : Double : Pass : 44, all pass. Where West
led the ¥K, the 4-1 trump split limited declarer to 11 tricks. Where West led the #5 (an attractive start), declarer
could win and play a diamond, win any return, ruff a diamond, draw trumps, discard the ¥8 on the sixth club for
12 tricks, +480. That happened twice when the #5 was led. At the other two tables where declarer received the
&5 lead, declarer simply drew trumps and made 11 tricks. The ¥K lead (or the ¥4 when North became declarer)
restricted declarer to 11 tricks.

In only one BBO match did the bidding go beyond 44. You already saw this auction at the top of page 1.

West North East South
4y Dble Pass 4
Pass Pass 5% Dble
Pass  Pass Pass

Taking a sacrifice, vulnerable versus not is a brave decision. With 44 making, you need to go down doubled by
only one trick to show a profit.

North led the K. When South played the 46 (reverse count, showing an even number), North switched to the
46: ace — nine — ten. After the ¥3: five — king — ace, North played the #K: six — two (even number) - five. North
returned a trump and South was one down, —200, a good result as 44 is unbeatable.

How might North have found the play of the #3 at trick 4 or trick 5 to take 5¥ doubled two down and +500 for
North-South?

If West had a club loser, West might have played a club rather than a trump at trick 6. What was going on in
diamonds? As West had opened 4¥ at adverse vulnerability with a spade loser, a heart loser and a club loser or
two, it was highly likely that that West had the #K. In that case, West did not need any club ruffs in dummy and
a heart return was futile.

A BBO commentator suggested that South might have helped North with the #Q under the #K as an alarm
signal to do something unusual, in this case another diamond.

The solution should have come much earlier. What was the purpose of the 46 at trick 2? If declarer had a
diamond loser, it wasn’t going anywhere. If South had the ¢K as a winner now, it would still be a winner later.

North should have switched to a club at trick 2. Even if this went into the #A-Q with declarer, there was no
useful discard in dummy on the second club winner. In practice, South would win with the #A and switch to the
49. That would be enough to point North to the right move after taking the YA on the first round of hearts.



Bd. 15: Dealer West : East-West vulnerable

North

& AK93

v A8

463

& KJ1084
West East
10 & 8542
v KQ109762 v 43
¢+ KJ102 + AQ8754
&5 &6

South

& QJ76

v J5

+9

& AQ9732

This is what happened at the other table:

West North East South

3v Dble Pass 4v®

Pass 44 Pass 5a®@

Pass 6¥®  Pass 64

Pass Pass  Pass
(1) Playable in two or three suits
(2) Interested in six if you control hearts
(3) First-round heart control, ace or void

This was certainly a good shot by South. All that 64 needed was trumps to be 3-2, normally a 68% chance, a bit
less here given the 3¥ pre-empt, but certainly reasonable. East led the ¥4 and with the spades 4-1, North had to

settle for one down, —100 and —7 Imps. Had North-South collected 500 at the other table, it would have been
worth 12 Imps instead of 7.

Problem for Tomorrow:;

With neither side vulnerable, West deals and passes. What would you do as North with:
4 J3
v J5
¢ K105
» KJ10753
Why not phone or email your bridge partners and compare your answers and your reasoning?

Tried calling the tinnitus help line. No answer. Just kept ringing.

A great gift: The Power of Pass (by Harold Schogger and Ron Klinger). $A25.00 Available from Suzie
Klinger, post free until 2021: email suzie@ronklingerbridge.com or telephone 0411 229 705.
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